Back to SmartGov Main Menu

Closing and deleting businesses

If a business has shut down, you can easily document this through the business account feature. You also have the option to delete a business account if a license has not been created for the account. *Note: You may not have access to this feature at this time.

How to Close a Business Account

If a business account needs to be closed, you can make this change from the Main tab of the account.

 

     The Dude Says:

When closing a business, note types must be configured for both the Business and the License, so that notes can be attached as part of the "Close" process. To set up your note types:

  • Create a note type called "Business Closure" under the Note Types section of Jurisdiction Setup.
  • Associate the "Business Closure" note type with the Business and License options under the Allowed Note Types section of Jurisdiction Setup.
 

 

  1. Click Accounts in the navigation menu, then select Business Accounts.
  2. Select the business account that needs to be closed.
  3. Change the Status to Closed.
  4. A window will display listing any active licenses and outstanding fees. Click Open License Details to view a specific license in a new window.
  5. If you would like to proceed with closing this business, click Close All Licenses.
  6. Select a Note Type and Note Code. Enter your note Text.
  7. Click Save.

 

How to Delete a Business Account

If a business account exists, but no license has been created, you can delete the business account.

  1. Click Accounts in the navigation menu, then select Business Accounts.
  2. Select the business account from the list.
  3. Click Delete at the bottom of the page.
  4. Click Delete Record in the window that displays.