Back to Asset Essentials Main Menu

User Roles

User Roles can be thought of as "permission groups" that define the access that certain users have in Asset Essentials. In Asset Essentials Enterprise, user roles are configurable. This may involve editing the permissions or features of a default user role, or creating a new user role in your account. *Note: The feature below is only available to clients who have purchased Asset Essentials Enterprise. Please contact your Sales Representative or Client Services if you are interested in purchasing Asset Essentials Enterprise.

 

There are 3 kinds of permissions that can be assigned to any user:

  • Global - permissions apply to any site in any region.
  • Regional - permissions apply to any site in that region. You can have similar permissions in more than one region.
  • Site - permissions apply only to that site. You can have similar permissions at more than one site.

How to Create a New User Role

  • Click on the Admin menu icon, then click on Roles.
  • Click on the New button.

General

  • Enter a Name for the User Role.
  • Select the user Type that applies to this role. There are 5 different User Types available to choose from:
    • Administrator - This Type is meant to represent a Global Administrator.
    • Full User - Users that can be given access to everything in the account. (User Role example: Account Administrator)
    • Request Only - Users that only have access to create requests for work and view the requests they have made. (User Role example: Requester)
    • Specialty - Users that can enter maintenance requests, as well as view and edit PM work orders. (User Role example: Operator/TPM)
    • Tracking Only - Users that do not have access to log into the system, but can have work assigned to them for tracking purposes. (User Role example: Contractors)
  • Choose a Landing Page for when someone in this user role logs into Asset Essentials.
  • Enter a Description for this Role if needed.

 

Default Views

When you create a new user role, you can define the default views those users will see for every summary page in Asset Essentials.

  • Select the appropriate views from the drop down for each summary page listed. This applies the selected view to all users in this role.

 

Menu Items

This section controls the tabs that are available at the top of the screen for this user role.

  • Check the boxes next to the menu and sub-menu items that you want to make available for users in this role.

 

Permissions

In this section, you can select the Global, Regional, and Site permissions that you want to make available to this user role.

  • Check the boxes in each section to apply those permissions to this user role.
  • Most features of Asset Essentials have four main permissions: View, Edit, Create, and Delete.
    • View - Checking this box allows users in this user role to view that Asset Essentials feature.
    • Edit - Checking this box allows users in this user role to edit that Asset Essentials feature.
    • Create - Checking this box allows users in this user role to create new items.
    • Delete - Checking this box allows users in this user role to delete these items.

Additional Permissions

In addition to the four main permissions, there are check boxes for more specific control of certain Asset Essentials features.

  • Labor Info - If checked, users in this user role will be able to either view or edit wage information in Asset Essentials.
  • Self Only - When checked, this permission will limit users in this user role to view, edit, or create only their own items. For example, if Self Only is unchecked in the Edit column for the Work Orders feature, users in this user role will be able to edit other user's work orders.
  • Complete - This permission controls whether users in this user role can edit work orders in the complete status.
  • Archived - This permission controls whether users in this user role can edit work orders in the archived status.
  • Approval req'd - When checked this permission requires approval for all work orders created by any user with this user role.

 

  • Click the Save button at the top of your screen to add this user role to Asset Essentials.

How to Edit an Existing User Role

  • Click on the Admin menu icon, then click on Roles.
  • Right-click on the name of the role you would like to change and select Edit.

 

General

This section allows you to change the Name of the role, the user Type, the Landing Page for a user in this role, as well as the role Description.

 

Default Views

Asset Essentials allows users to create customized views for each of the listed summary pages. Any saved default views for these summary pages that were made available to others will show here as an option to select as the default view for someone in this user role.

  • Select the appropriate views from the drop down for each summary page listed. This applies the selected view to all users in this role.

 

Menu Items

This section controls the tabs that are available at the top of the screen for this user role.

  • Check the boxes next to the menu and sub-menu items that you want to make available for users in this role.

 

Permissions

In this section, you can select the Global, Regional, and Site permissions that you want to make available to this user role.

  • Check the boxes in each section to apply those permissions to this user role.
  • Most features of Asset Essentials have four main permissions: View, Edit, Create, and Delete.
    • View - Checking this box allows users in this user role to view that Asset Essentials feature.
    • Edit - Checking this box allows users in this user role to edit that Asset Essentials feature.
    • Create - Checking this box allows users in this user role to create new items.
    • Delete - Checking this box allows users in this user role to delete these items.

Additional Permissions

In addition to the four main permissions, there are check boxes for more specific control of certain Asset Essentials features.

  • Labor Info - If checked, users in this user role will be able to either view or edit wage information in Asset Essentials.
  • Self Only - When checked, this permission will limit users in this user role to view, edit, or create only their own items. For example, if Self Only is unchecked in the Edit column for the Work Orders feature, users in this user role will be able to edit other user's work orders.
  • Complete - This permission controls whether users in this user role can edit work orders in the complete status.
  • Archived - This permission controls whether users in this user role can edit work orders in the archived status.
  • Approval req'd - When checked this permission requires approval for all work orders created by any user with this user role.

 

  • Click the Save button at the top of your screen when you have made all the necessary changes.

 

Did you find this helpful? 

 

Back to Top