Back to Asset Essentials Main Menu

Checking Out and Returning Assets

In Asset Essentials, you have the ability to check out and return an asset. This allows an asset to be tracked to a specific user or crew that is currently using the asset. You can also track when the user or crew has returned the asset. In order to allow an asset to be "checked out", the Allow Sign Out box must be checked when adding an asset.

How to Check Out an Asset

  • Click on the Assets menu icon, then select Assets.
  • Right-click on an Asset and select Check Out/Return Log. *Note: If this option is grayed out, you must configure the asset to Allow Sign Out.
  • Navigate to the Log section of the page and click Sign-out.
  • In the window that displays, select a Signed Out Site, Signed Out By, and Signed Out Date.
  • Enter a Note, if needed.
  • Click Save to check out the asset.

 

How to Return an Asset

  • Click on the Assets menu icon, then select Assets.
  • Right-click on an Asset and select Check Out/Return Log. *Note: If this option is grayed out, you must configure the asset to Allow Sign Out.
  • Navigate to the Log section of the page and click Return.
  • In the window that displays, select a Returned Site, Returned By, and Returned Date.
  • Enter a Note, if needed.
  • Click Save to return the asset.

 

How to View Tools Checked Out to a User

  • Click on the Admin menu icon, then select Users.
  • Right-click on a User and select Check Out/Return Log.
  • The page will display a list of any assets checked out to the user.
  • If you want to return the asset, click the Return icon ().
    • In the window that displays, select a Returned Site, Returned By, and Returned Date.
    • Enter a Note, if needed.
    • Click Save to return the asset. The asset will no longer be listed on this page.