Back to Asset Essentials Main Menu

Processing Work Orders

Assigning Work Orders

You can view work orders that need to be assigned in the Work Center section of the Dashboard.

  • Click the number next to Needs assignment or status change to view those unassigned work orders.
  • Right-click on the Work Order that you will be assigning and select Edit.
  • Click on the Select User icon () in the Assigned To section of the Work Order entry screen to bring up a list of people to choose from.
  • If you want to assign the Work Order to yourself, click on the Select Me icon ().
  • Click Save at the top of the screen.

 

Approving Work Orders

Work Orders that require approval will appear on your Dashboard in the Work Center section. *Note: If you are unable to see this notification, click on the gear icon () in the top-right corner of the Work Center widget, and check the box next to Work Orders awaiting approval.

 

 

  • Click on the number next to Work Orders awaiting approval to be taken to a list of the work orders needing approval.
    • You can also view work orders waiting for approval from the Work Order Summary Page. Click the Advanced Filters button, then check the Waiting for approval only box. Click the Apply button to view any work orders waiting for your approval.
  • If the Work Order doesn't require review, you can right-click the Work Order and choose Approve () or Decline () from the menu.
  • If you would like to view the work order's details before approving or declining the work order, click on the work order that needs approval.
  • To approve or decline the Work Order, click either the Approve or Decline button at the top of the form.
  • Depending on how your account was configured, you may be asked for your Signature and additional Notes. If an additional window appears after clicking Approve or Decline, enter the requested information, then click either the Approve or Decline button in the window. *Note: When declining a work order, the decline reason entered will be viewable by the requester.

 

Batch Approving Work Orders

If you receive a number of work orders that do not require close review, you can approve or decline work orders in batch.

  • From your Dashboard, click on the number next to Work Orders awaiting approval to be taken to a list of the work orders needing approval.
    • You can also view work orders waiting for approval from the Work Order Summary Page. Click the Advanced Filters button, then check the Waiting for approval only box. Click the Apply button to view any work orders waiting for your approval.
  • Check the box next to the work orders you will be either approving or declining.
  • Click the More button, and select either Approve or Decline.
  • Depending on how your account was configured, you may be asked for your Signature and additional Notes. If an additional window appears after clicking Approve or Decline, enter the requested information, then click either the Approve or Decline button in the window. *Note: When declining a work order, the decline reason entered will be viewable by the requester.

 

Completing Work Orders

  • Click on the Work Orders menu icon, then select Work Orders.
  • Right-click on the Work Order that you will be completing and select Edit.
  • Change the WO Status to Completed. The Completed field will automatically fill in with today's date and time. You can modify the date and time if needed.
  • Click Save at the top of the page to complete the Work Order. *Note: Depending on how your Asset Essentials account was set up, you may be asked to provide a signature before completing a Work Order. If a Sign It window appears, enter your name in the Signature field and then click Save.

 

Duplicating a Work Order

Creating a copy of one of your Work Orders is easy in Asset Essentials.

  • Click on the Work Orders menu icon, then select Work Orders.
  • Right-click on the Work Order that you will be duplicating and select Duplicate.
  • The Add Work Order page will load with the majority of the information copied over from the selected Work Order.
  • Make any necessary changes to the duplicate Work Order and click Save.

 

Deleting a Work Order

  • Click on the Work Orders menu icon, then select Work Orders.
  • Right-click on the Work Order you will be deleting and select Delete.
  • You will be prompted to confirm deleting the Work Order. Click OK to delete. *Note: Deleting the Work Order will delete any transactions, such as labor entries, associated with the Work Order.

 

 

Did you find this helpful? 

 

Back to Top